Statutes for the Carl-Hermann-Medal

(Version according to the resolution of the general meeting of 11.03.2003)


The German Society for Crystallography awards a medal dedicated to the memory of Carl Hermann.


The Carl-Hermann-Medal is intended to honour the scientific lifetime work of outstanding researchers in the field of crystallography in the broadest sense. The medal will be presented with a certificate at the annual conference of the German Society for Crystallography.


The prizewinners are selected by a committee consisting of four elected DGK members and the chairperson of the DGK (ex officio). The four committee members to be elected are elected by the general meeting for a three-year term of office; they may be re-elected once. The Committee elects a Chairperson from among its members, who takes the lead, ensures that deadlines are met and prepares the resolution. The Committee makes its decision on the basis of proposals from the members, which are communicated to the Committee or requested by it. All members of the DGK are entitled to make proposals. Proposals should be submitted to the chairperson of the committee at least three months before the annual meeting.