Statutes for the Lieselotte Templeton Prize

Translated from the original German language version according to the resolution of the general assembly of the DGK on March 16, 2021

§1 – Dedication/Cause

The student prize of the German Society for Crystallography is intended to contribute to increasing the attractiveness of crystallography, especially among students, and to promote young scientists in the field of crystallography. In accordance with its purpose, the German Society for Crystallography (DGK) awards a prize dedicated to the memory of Lieselotte Templeton.

§2 – Scope of the prize

The prize is awarded each year to a maximum of three prize winners. The prize consists of a certificate, a three-year membership in the German Society for Crystallography and the financing of the participation in the next annual meeting by the DGK. The latter includes the conference fee, the conference dinner and the assumption of travel expenses in accordance with the Federal Travel Expenses Act up to a maximum of 500 euros. The award ceremony itself will take place at this same annual meeting. The winners are free to give a lecture on their final topic at the conference in the context of the contributions of the AK Young Crystallographers.

§3 – Candidacy, Nomination & Selection Criteria

Prizes will be awarded to Bachelor’s, Master’s and Diploma theses and comparable final papers in which methods and approaches of crystallography have been successfully applied. Consideration will be given primarily to theses from the previous year of the award. Proposals must summarize the graduate work, first by a review by university faculty and second by a summary by the student; both documents should be no more than one page each. Calls for nominations for awards should be published by the committee in a timely manner in appropriate professional journals of crystallography and related sciences. Proposals should be submitted to the Chair of the Committee at least 3 months before the Annual Meeting.

§4 – Committee

The selection of the award winners is made by a committee consisting of the chair of the DGK (ex officio, one vote), the chair of the working group Young Crystallographers (one vote) as well as three elected members of the DGK (one vote each). The three committee members to be elected are elected by the General Assembly of the DGK for three years; re-election is permitted once. The committee elects a chairperson from among its members, who takes the lead, ensures that deadlines are met, and prepares the passing of resolutions.